Denmark’s Eurovision 2017 Entry

Anja Nissen has won Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017 and will represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest with “Where I Am.”

Nissen is a Danish-Australian singer who won the third season of Australia’s The Voice. She had also made the semifinals of Australia’s Got Talent when she was 12. She finished second in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2016 with “Never Alone,” which was co-written by Song Contest winner Emmelie de Forest. Nissen co-wrote “Where I Am” with Angel Tupai, who was a competitor on season four of Australia’s X Factor, and Michael D’Arcy, an Australian songwriter who has penned songs for 5 Seconds of Summer and Samantha Jade.

We stress that “Where I Am” is this year’s Danish entry, not this year’s Australian entry.

We know this because Australia usually sends more interesting songs. I mean, it’s fine, in a bland adult contemporary sort of way. It’s great if you want to make a long-distance dedication on a love songs after dark radio show or looking for background music during a standard rom-com montage. (Shh, don’t tell the Danes that rom-coms are dead.) On the plus side, Nissen is a good singer and a charismatic performer, so she has a decent shot at getting Denmark’s groove back. But this is not our cup of schmaltz.